Great War Commander

1562 : the Beginning of a Tragedy

1562 : the Beginning of a Tragedy
Click on image to enlarge

Price: 78.00 € 69.00 €promotion

Quantity: 

Publisher: Serious Historical Games

Reference: SHG-DRE

Format: box

Period: Renaissance & Sengoku-Jidai

Language:

1 item in stock


More infos

1562 : The Beginning of a Tragedy is a grand tactical game which, for the first time, allows the simulation of three battles of that era:

  • DREUX, 19th December 1562 : the very first important battle.
  • VERGT (VER as known at this era), 9th October 1562 : won by the very famous catholic general Blaise de Montluc.
  • LE BESSAT, 31st October 1562 ; an intro scenario with few counters for discovering the rules.

1562 : The Beginning of a Tragedy is the Volume III of the series By Shot, Shock and Faith (in French: "Par le feu, le fer et la foi") allows the simulation of religious wars that occurred in France from 1562 to 1598. This civil war opposes, in a first conflict phase, protestants- otherwise known as Huguenots- to catholics, then royalists to League members after the accession of Henri IV to the throne in 1589. The art of war during this period of the Renaissance is rapidly changing. The great feudal landlords, steeped in morals, fight alongside mercenaries motivated by sole cupidity. The diversity of the weapons that are used offers great tactical possibilities, based on impact and fire. Gendarmes, cuirassiers, reiters, harquebusiers, lansquenets and Swiss mercenaries confront each other in a merciless fight.

This is a classic game system ; « I go, You go », of average complexity, including, during the active player's phase, a sequence of reaction from the passive player, such as fire, counter-charge or tactical backstep. The maps are with areas from 300 to 500 m by side. A color code allows to easily determine the costs of movements and the line of sight. The scale of the game is one unit for 100 to 500 soldiers or one or two guns. One game turn represents a duration of 20 to 30 minutes. A corps represents either a vanguard or a rearguard, or the main body called battle.

The combats allow to simulate charges « en haie » (in hedge), the merciless shocks between pikemen, the artillery fire and highlight, by a support system, the combination of iron -shock- and fire -shooting. The optional rules- caracoles, orders, lost children, looting- add even more realism to the era's battles. The rules and the three battles offered are based on a thorough bibliography and researches made into books written by contemporary authors, specifically François de la Noue for the Protestants and Blaise de Montluc for the Catholics, and also on precise topographical plans of each battlefield that is still accessible... Are you ready to put on the boots of Henri de Guise or the Prince de Condé and fight your enemies ?

Great War Commander

1562 : the Beginning of a Tragedy

1562 : the Beginning of a Tragedy
Cliquez sur l'image pour zoomer

Prix : 78.00 € 69.00 €promotion

Editeur : Serious Historical Games

Référence : SHG-DRE

Format : boite

Periode : Renaissance & Sengoku-Jidai

Langue:

Rupture de stock temporaire


Plus d'infos

1562 : The Beginning of a Tragedy est un jeu grand-tactique qui permet de simuler trois batailles de l'époque :

  • DREUX, 19 décembre 1562 : la toute première bataille importante.
  • VERGT (VER à l'époque), 9 octobre 1562 : remportée par le très célèbre général catholique Blaise de Montluc.
  • LE BESSAT, 31 octobre 1562 ; un scénario d'introduction avec peu de pions, idéal pour découvrir les règles.

1562 : The Beginning of a Tragedy est le volume III de la série Par le Feu, le Fer et la Foi qui permet de simuler les guerres de religion qui se sont déroulées en France de 1562 à 1598. Cette guerre civile oppose, dans la première phase du conflit, les Protestants - autrement appelés Huguenots - aux Catholiques, puis les Royalistes aux Ligueurs après l'accession au trône d'Henri IV, en 1589. L'art de la guerre durant cette période de la Renaissance est en pleine mutation. Les grands propriétaires féodaux, imprégnés de morale, combattent aux côtés de mercenaires mus par la seule cupidité. La diversité des armes utilisées offre de grandes possibilités tactiques, basées sur l'impact et le feu. Gendarmes, cuirassiers, reîtres, arquebusiers, lansquenets et mercenaires suisses s'affrontent dans une lutte sans merci.

1562 : The Beginning of a Tragedy utilise un système de jeu classique  " Je joue, tu joues ", de complexité moyenne, incluant - lors de la phase du joueur actif - une séquence de réaction du joueur passif (avec tir, contre-charge ou recul tactique). Les cartes comportent des zones de 300 à 500 mètres de côté. Un code couleur permet de déterminer facilement les coûts de mouvement et la ligne de vue. L'échelle du jeu est d'une unité pour 100 à 500 soldats ou un à deux canons. Un tour de jeu représente une durée de 20 à 30 minutes. Un corps représente soit une avant-garde, soit une arrière-garde, soit le corps principal appelé à combattre.

Les combats permettent de simuler les charges "en haie", les chocs impitoyables entre piquiers et les tirs d'artillerie. Ils mettent en valeur, par un système de soutien, la combinaison du fer -choc- et du feu -tir-. Les règles optionnelles - caracoles, ordres, enfants perdus, pillages - ajoutent encore plus de réalisme aux batailles de l'époque. Les règles et les trois batailles proposées s'appuient sur une bibliographie approfondie et des recherches effectuées dans des ouvrages écrits par des auteurs contemporains, notamment François de la Noue pour les protestants et Blaise de Montluc pour les catholiques, ainsi que sur des plans topographiques précis de chaque champ de bataille encore accessible...

Êtes-vous prêt à enfiler les bottes d'Henri de Guise ou du Prince de Condé et à combattre vos ennemis ?